ORCumentary Is Not Going Anywhere! Also, some new shows.

My fellow orcs, allow me to break character again. The TL;DR version of this post is that after a LOT of thought (see the wall of text below), I have decided to keep ORCumentary going. However, my statement from last month was not completely false. The best orc rock band in the universe cannot maintain its title in its current state, so perhaps an “active, but restructuring” status would be more fitting.

The main reason I seriously considered ending ORCumentary was that I was (am) burnt out from the live performances. I’ve always said that the best and worst thing about ORCumentary is that it’s all me. For a long time, I believed this was an asset, but lately the negative aspects of being the only one on your team have started to stack up. I’ve come to realize that my eyes are bigger than my stomach when it comes to booking shows. In the 6 years that i’ve been performing, i’ve played 130 shows (give or take), which equates to roughly 21 a year. Lately, though, performing, booking, and traveling to shows turned into a grind. There were other reasons as well, which weren’t as significant.

However, the moment I made it “Facebook Official”, I realized I made a mistake. Even though I was feeling very burnt out, a possible end to the music project i’ve invested nearly 8 years of my life into became very real and just felt completely wrong. With “Orcs 1 Goblins 0”, I felt that I finally achieved the sound I was going for since day 1. To stop now would undo so much that i’ve worked to achieve. As I said in my other statement, most of the next album is written and it would be a crime if it never saw the light of day, and this orc doesn’t want to be a criminal 😉

I absolutely love the music I create. I absolutely love performing, not just the songs but the persona I assume between songs. I believe that the solution to the majority of ORCumentary’s current issues is to take it easy for a while. Next year I hope to play a few shows, but not very many. My original plan was to release the next album in early 2015. While writing the rest of the album, recording it, releasing it, and adequately supporting it is too large an investment of time and money for me to think about now, rest assured that these songs will see the light of day. My estimate right now is for an early 2016 release.

Thank you all so much for your support!

PS: I have also been writing some non-orc-related music with the hopes of starting a full band. This will not impact ORCumentary’s status though.

Leave a Reply

